Monday, August 24, 2009

Award in the memory of Sudhakar Pandey

An award in the memory of Bhojpuri film producer Sudhakar Pandey will be given every year by "Bhojpuri Film Awards" committee. This was announced by committee’s president Vinod Gupta in a function at Mumbai.During weekends, a function was organised by Alok Kumar, Abhay Sinha, and other film personalities to pay tribute to Sudhakar Pandey. In the same function, veteran actor Kunal Singh suggested to start an award in his name. Vinod Gupta promptly accepted the same, and announced that from next year onwards, this award will be given to the people involved in promotion of Bhojpuri Cinema. Many big names of the industry including T.P. Agarwal, Super star Ravi Kishan, Kunal Singh, Bipin Bahaar, Pankaj Keshri, Vinod Gupta, Rajkumar Pandey, Babloo Soni, Harry Fernandes, Brajesh Tripathi, Manoj Tiger, Praveshlal Yadav, Rinku Ghosh, Rani Chatterjee, Sadhika Randhawa, Arimardan Singh, and others were present on this occasion.Sudhakar Pandey, who passed away last week, has the credit to introduce superstars like Manoj Tiwari and Dineshlal Yadav Nirahua to Bhojpuri film industry. His film "Sasura Bada Paisawala" is also treated as one of the biggest hits in the history of Bhojpuri Cinema.